top of page

Ella Anne...in a nutshell

Our little Ella was a big surprise in a tiny package




When we first found out that we were having a baby, she was the size of a poppy seed. This ended up being her nickname for the next few months, despite her 'sprouting' into new 'fruits and vegetables' every week, according to the numerous apps I had downloaded to my phone. This nickname was extra special because it was also the name of one of my grandfathers, as well. We knew from the very beginning that our little poppy seed was a gift sent from heaven.

At 38 years old, I was not planning on having any children. I had even convinced myself that I either couldn't have them or just wasn't meant to have any. To say the least, our tiny poppy seed was a BIG surprise! God definitely had some different plans then we did.

At our 20 week ultrasound, our doctor told us that he saw her stomach next to her heart and that he suspected a congenital diaphragmatic hernia. A what? Can you spell that?? I wasn't sure how I felt about this. Our doctor stayed quite calm. I didn't feel fear. I kinda just felt like, 'Okay. This will be okay.' He didn't seem super worried. "Is this serious?" "Can it be fixed?" He was vague on the answers. I can only imagine now what was actually going through his head and what he didn't want to say.

"Can this effect her lungs," I asked after a few minutes of taking this in.

He looked at me sideways, "You're smart. That is a concern."

I just have a basic knowledge of anatomy. Little did I know just how much of a concern this actually was!

He referred us to the neonatal team at Johns Hopkins All Children's Hospital in St. Petersburg, Florida and said that he would no longer be our doctor. (At that moment, that news hit me even harder. He had delivered my nephews. I wanted him to deliver our baby girl.) We didn't know at that time what a blessing this referral would end up being, though. Not only would they confirm his suspicions of CDH and monitor us very closely, there was also entire unit there that specialized in this. The best part of that was that we only lived about an hour away from St. Petersburg. We would later find out that families came from all over the world to seek out help here.

After leaving the doctor's office that afternoon, I fought the urge to search this mystery diagnosis online. Before I knew it, my curiosity got the best of me and every gloom and doom article out there about CDH littered my phone screen. No wonder our doctor had been so evasive with the answers. According to the world wide web, this was pretty much a death sentence for our little poppy seed.

That's when the fear crept in.

I cried. Will soothed. He's really good at that.




Create Relevant Content

You’ll be posting loads of engaging content, so be sure to keep your blog organized with Categories that also allow readers to explore more of what interests them. Each category of your blog has its own page that’s fully customizable. Add a catchy title, a brief description and a beautiful image to the category page header to truly make it your own. You can also add tags (#vacation #dream #summer) throughout your posts to reach more people, and help readers search for relevant content. Using hashtags can expand your post reach and help people find the content that matters to them. Go ahead, #hashtag away.


Stun Your Readers

Be original, show off your style, and tell your story.

Blogging gives your site a voice, so let your business’ personality shine through. Are you a creative agency? Go wild with original blog posts about recent projects, cool inspirational ideas, or what your company culture is like. Add images, and videos to really spice it up, and pepper it with slang to keep readers interested. Are you a programmer? Stay on the more technical side by offering weekly tips, tricks, and hacks that show off your knowledge of the industry. No matter what type of business you have, one thing is for sure - blogging gives your business the opportunity to be heard in a way in a different and unconventional way.


Get Inspired

To keep up with all things Wix, including website building tips and interesting articles, head over to the Wix Blog. You may even find yourself inspired to start crafting your own blog, adding unique content, and stunning images and videos. Start creating your own blog now. Good luck!


63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page